Photo

How do you talk about weight with your partner/spouse?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 MiaMajorette

MiaMajorette

Advanced Member

• Members
  • 159 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA, USA

Posted 21 March 2017 - 10:02 PM

I love my husband. I love him regardless of his weight- although I do need him to be healthy for many years to come! He is overweight. He's 5'10 & says he weighs 250, but I'm pretty sure with his strength & size, it's more than that. I'm 5'4 and just under 150 lbs, with an eating disordered background, so I'm the last to judge ANYONE on their weight. I am a nurse & I just care about him a lot, but when I ask him his weight he refuses to tell me and he refuses to diet with me ever. I feel like he has an eating disorder too...he even had gastric sleeve surgery 5 years ago and has gained some of the weight back. I know he doesn't like the way he looks, and I'm worried for his health. He is ten years older than me. Any advice on how to gently approach the subject without hurting any feelings?? Or should I just not, and let him do him and not worry about it?

Edited by MiaMajorette, 21 March 2017 - 10:06 PM.

#2 *mirror*image*

*mirror*image*

PhD in Forumology

• Members
  • 3,062 posts

Posted 22 March 2017 - 02:36 AM

I try to go with the health angle rather than say anything about their physical size and shape (honestly I 100% try not to go there of course something may slip out but considering the concern is health/well being I don't think mentioning anything negative about their body is a good thing). Like I try to tell them that what they're eating is not good for their health and that they should try something else and mention the other option. Sometimes it's met with contempt but other times it's l like they'll be honestly surprised because they didn't realize there was a healthier option or that what they were doing to themselves was that bad.